Sport in our Club

The backbone of our success

We are proud to have ten adjuncts and four activity groups as apart of our Club family, who welcome all who wish to come and give it ago!



President: Gavin Johnson

Contact details:

Results Tuesday 1st December: Winner Graham Collett and Haylee Wills both with 4 wins. Highest Break Don with 40. Raffles Joyce & DJ.



President: Ray Fitness

Contact details:

AGM 8th February 2021 at 6pm

Confirm minutes 2020 AGM
President’s Report
Financial Report
Election of Officers
Set Subscriptions
Remits need to be to the secretary 21 days prior to the meeting
Nigel Hope

Indoor Bowls.JPG

Indoor Bowls

President: Alex Steel

President Alex Steel welcomed 27 members to Opening day for Indoor Bowls on 12 February and an enjoyable afternoon of bowls. All members agreed with him on hoping for a full season of bowls this year.  Spot prizes and extra raffle prizes  were added for the day for the members anticipation.  We also celebrated Jim Bell's birthday with a lovely supplied Carrot Cake. Thanks Rosalie.

Long-time member and oldest club champion saw Peter Gorrie roll the first bowl of the season.

Winners on the day were Alex Steel and Trish Schultz

Runners Up:  Don Gardner, Marilyn Steel and Brian Wyatt

Chocolate prize went to Laurene Eades, Jenny Harpur and Ron Bartlett

Two spot prizes on the day went to Pam Gray and Trish Schultz.

Raffles prizes for the day went to Bruce Rollo, Jim Bell and Jim Foley



President: Rod Styles

Contact details:

Mah Jong.jpg


Vice President: Tina Palmer

Contact details:

On Friday 19th February we had 54 players at Mah Jong. "The Bigwood Prize", sponsored by Smoky Pallet, was won by Gael Butler.  The Mah Jong winner for the day was Dawn Styles with a colossal 47 points. Second was Catherine Kidd with 44 points and third was Lynne Plowright with 41 points.

Golf Club.jpg


President: Rod McLeod

Contact details:

We had a great turnout for our first post covid Tournament on Sunday 28th June with 34 players. Another 5 joined us for our AGM with drinks and delicious platters provided by the club. There were some great (and not so great!) scores. The ones we can talk about are:  Ladies: 1) Rosemarie Rutherford - 33, 2) Helen Cashen (by lot) 32

NTP Chris Davenport. Gentlemen: 1) Ken Coulam 41, 2) Alex Steel 40 3) Steve Goddard 39, 4) Mike Gallot (by lot) 37, NTP Rod McLeod.

We also had a hidden teams prize  - for the combined top score (which was 147) but the team members have requested confidentiality.


Tai Chi

Contact: Tamara Echave

Contact details:

Texas Hold'em Poker.jpg

Texas Hold'Em Poker

Contact: Phil Harriss or see Jilly

Contact details:

Phil Harriss phone 021 955 861

Play every Wednesday - Rego: 6pm Start: 6:30pm Cost $15 

Well, it's been a busy holiday period, but the Poker Adjunct is back into full swing now playing casual warmup games on Wednesdays @6.30pm. $20 Entry with $20 sidepot. Platters provided.

The Poker AGM is being held on Wednesday February 10th @5.30pm, followed by the 1st game of our 10week Club season.

All welcome



President: Mark Carter

Contact details:

Table Tennis.jpg

Table Tennis

Contact: Gail Gilbertson

Contact details:

Thursday 18 February: 17 players vied for the top spot with Wayne Broom and Graeme Smith taking it.  Brian Ford  and Denise Wallace weren't too far away and then came the also rans.  Great competition and we'll do it all again next week.   We're at the Whangamata Club every Thursday at 12.50pm.

Coastal Rocker_edited.jpg

Coastal Rockers

President: Grace Patterson

Line Dancing.jpg

Line Dancing

Contact: Colleen

Contact details:

Keep Fit.jpeg

Keep Fit

Contact: Erin Wyatt

Contact details:

Bolivia Cards.jpg


Contact: Alison Gee

07-865 8705

©2020 by The Whangamata Club. Proudly created with